Outstanding complaints lodged 28 June 2018

Alan ASHMORE made this Freedom of Information request to Department of Veterans' Affairs

The request was successful.

From: Alan ASHMORE

Delivered

Dear Department of Veterans' Affairs,

I lodged two separate complaints on 28 June 2018.

The specific complaints were:

COMPLAINT 1: IS AGAINST SIMON LEWIS FOR HIS DECEPTIVE, MISLEADING AND DISINGENOUS 10 APRIL 2018 RESPONSE TO MY ANALYSIS AS PRESENTED TO ESORT:

COMPLAINT 2: RELATES TO THE FALSE PUBLISHED MINUTES OF ESORT 9 MARCH 2018 MEETING AS NOTED ON DVA’S WEBSITE.

I require all correspondence and actions taken by DVA since the lodgement of those two complaints which as of today remain unresolved.

Yours faithfully,

Alan ASHMORE

Link to this

From: INFORMATION.LAW
Department of Veterans' Affairs

Dear Mr Ashmore

Freedom of Information Request: FOI 30921 Acknowledgement Letter

I refer to your request for access to documents held by the Department of Veterans’ Affairs (Department) under the Freedom of Information Act 1982 (FOI Act). Your request was received by the Department on 16 September 2019 and was made in the following terms:

...COMPLAINT 1: IS AGAINST SIMON LEWIS FOR HIS DECEPTIVE, MISLEADING AND DISINGENOUS 10 APRIL 2018 RESPONSE TO MY ANALYSIS AS PRESENTED TO ESORT:
COMPLAINT 2: RELATES TO THE FALSE PUBLISHED MINUTES OF ESORT 9 MARCH 2018 MEETING AS NOTED ON DVA’S WEBSITE.

I require all correspondence and actions taken by DVA since the lodgement of those two complaints which as of today remain unresolved...

In accordance with section 15(5)(b) of the FOI Act, the due date for a decision on your request is 16 October 2019.

When the processing period may be extended or suspended

The current due date may be extended by up to 30 days if agreed by you (section 15AA of the FOI Act). Also, the due date may be extended by an additional 30 days in each instance, if your request is considered voluminous or complex (section 15AB of the FOI Act) or if the Department is required to undertake a third party consultation (sections 26A, 27 or 27A of the FOI Act). If any of these extensions apply, the Department will notify you.

Additionally, there are occasions where the time to process your request may be suspended. This will usually take place if a practical refusal consultation process takes place (section 24AB of the FOI Act) or if a charges notice is issued to process your request (section 29 of the FOI Act). If the Department decides that either of these apply to your request, the Department will notify you.

We will write again when the Department has more information. Further information on FOI processing can be found at the website of the Office of the Australian Information Commissioner at https://www.oaic.gov.au/.

Publication of documents

Please note that information released under the FOI Act may later be published online on our disclosure log at https://www.dva.gov.au/about-dva/freedom... subject to certain exceptions, such as if the documents relate to your own personal information. The Department will advise you in its decision whether details of your request will be published on the disclosure log or not.

Contacting us about your request

We will contact you using the email address you have provided. Please advise if you would prefer us to use an alternative means of contact.

If you have any questions, please contact me using the following details:

Post: Information Law Section, Legal Services & Audit Branch
GPO Box 9998 CANBERRA ACT 2601
Facsimile: (02) 6289 6337
Email: [email address]

Yours sincerely,

Lachlan (Position Number 62230915)
Information Law Section | Legal Services and Audit Branch
Integrity, Assurance and Communications Division
Department of Veterans’ Affairs
E: [email address] | W: www.dva.gov.au

show quoted sections

Link to this

From: INFORMATION.LAW
Department of Veterans' Affairs


Attachment image001.png
15K Download


Good afternoon Mr Ashmore,

 

I am writing in relation to your FOI request for the following documents:

                ...COMPLAINT 1: IS AGAINST SIMON LEWIS FOR HIS DECEPTIVE,
MISLEADING AND DISINGENOUS 10 APRIL 2018 RESPONSE TO MY ANALYSIS AS
PRESENTED TO ESORT:

COMPLAINT 2: RELATES TO THE FALSE PUBLISHED MINUTES OF ESORT 9 MARCH 2018
MEETING AS NOTED ON DVA’S WEBSITE.

 

I require all correspondence and actions taken by DVA since the lodgement
of those two complaints which as of today remain unresolved...

 

A decision on this request is due tomorrow, 15 October 2019.

 

I am writing to seek your agreement to an extension of time of seven days 
under section 15AA of the FOI Act. If you agree, this will mean that a 
decision on your FOI request is due on Tuesday 22 October 2019. However,
I  will endeavour to get a decision to you before this date if at all 
possible.

 

Could you please let me know if you agree to this extension of time?

 

Kind regards

Jo

 

 

Jo (Position Number: 6221 0326)

Information Law Section | Legal Services and Audit Branch

Department of Veterans’ Affairs
E: [1][email address] | W: [2]www.dva.gov.au

 

[3]cid:image001.png@01D0027A.1DAB84F0

 

References

Visible links
1. mailto:[email address]
2. http://www.dva.gov.au/

Link to this

From: Alan ASHMORE

Delivered

Dear INFORMATION.LAW,

I reply to your request for an extension of up to 7 days to supply the information requested. Apologies for the delay in responding but I am currently overseas and don't access the internet every day.

I am happy to agree to your request. Adding another few days to this matter is very small seeing I first lodged two formal complaints and for which I am still awaiting the outcome of more than 15 months later.

Yours sincerely,

Alan ASHMORE

Link to this

From: Alan ASHMORE

Delivered

Dear INFORMATION.LAW,

My original FOI request was due on 15 October 2019.

I agreed to your 14 October 2019 request for a 7 day extension to finalise this FOI request.

I note that 7 day period expired several days ago and I have not been supplied with the requested information.

I ask that you finalise my request by no later than the close of business on 25 October 2019.

Yours sincerely,

Alan ASHMORE

Link to this

From: INFORMATION.LAW
Department of Veterans' Affairs


Attachment image001.png
15K Download

Attachment FOI 30921 Statement of Reasons.pdf
275K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 1 Redacted.pdf
1.2M Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 2 Redacted.pdf
676K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 3 Redacted.pdf
121K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 4 Redacted.pdf
87K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 5 Redacted.pdf
81K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 6 Redacted.pdf
517K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 7 Redacted.pdf
214K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 8 Redacted.pdf
101K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 9 Redacted.pdf
115K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 10 Redacted.pdf
113K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 11 Attachment to Document 10 Release in full.pdf
201K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 12 Redacted.pdf
110K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 13 Attachment to Document 12 Redacted.pdf
113K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 14 Attachment to Document 13 Release in full.pdf
201K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 15 Redacted.pdf
110K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 16 Attachment to Document 15 Redacted.pdf
113K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 17 Attachment to Document 16 Release in full.pdf
201K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 18 Redacted.pdf
116K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 19 Redacted.pdf
116K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 20 Redacted.pdf
84K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 30921 Document 21 Redacted.pdf
132K Download View as HTML


Good afternoon Mr Ashmore,

 

FOI 30921

 

My apologies for the delay in providing you with the decision and
documents in relation to FOI 30921.

 

Please find attached the statement of reasons and 21 documents identified
as being within the scope of your request.

 

Kind regards

Jo

 

Jo (Position Number: 6221 0326)

Information Law Section | Legal Services and Audit Branch

Department of Veterans’ Affairs
E: [1][email address] | W: [2]www.dva.gov.au

 

[3]cid:image001.png@01D0027A.1DAB84F0

 

References

Visible links
1. mailto:[email address]
2. http://www.dva.gov.au/

Link to this

Things to do with this request

Anyone:
Department of Veterans' Affairs only: