FOI Act complaints received by the OAIC in July 2022

Response to this request is delayed. By law, Office of the Australian Information Commissioner should normally have responded promptly and by (details)

Attn Office of the Australian Information Commissioner,

I request copy of all Freedom of Information Act complaints received by the OAIC in July 2022. Let's see if you pull this 100% exemption rubbish on me.

Personal information of private individuals (excluding Commonwealth public servants and contractors) is irrelevant.

Verity Pane

OAIC - Legal, Office of the Australian Information Commissioner

5 Attachments

Our reference: FOIREQ22/00225

Dear Verity Pane

Freedom of Information amendment request

I refer to your request for documents made under the Freedom of
Information Act 1982 (Cth) (the FOI Act) and received by the Office of the
Australian Information Commissioner (OAIC) on 12 August 2022.

Scope of your request

In your email you seek to amend the following:

“I request copy of all Freedom of Information Act complaints received by
the OAIC in July 2022. Let's see if you pull this 100% exemption rubbish
on me.

 

Personal information of private individuals (excluding Commonwealth public
servants and contractors) is irrelevant.”

We will not identify you as the FOI applicant during any consultation
process. However, documents that are within the scope of your request that
we may need to consult third parties about may contain your personal
information.

Timeframes for dealing with your request

Section 15 of the FOI Act requires this office to process your request no
later than 30 days after the day we receive it. However, section 15(6) of
the FOI Act allows us a further 30 days in situations where we need to
consult with third parties about certain information, such as business
documents or documents affecting their personal privacy.

As we received your request on 12 August 2022, we must process your
request by 12 September 2022.

Disclosure Log

Documents released under the FOI Act may be published online on our
disclosure log, unless they contain personal or business information that
would be unreasonable to publish.

If you would like to discuss this matter, please contact me on my contact
details set out below.

Regards

 

[1][IMG] Toby Shanks | Paralegal

Legal Services

Office of the Australian
Information Commissioner

GPO Box 5218 Sydney NSW 2001 |
[2]oaic.gov.au

1300 363 992 |
[3][email address]
[4]Facebook | [5]LinkedIn | [6]Twitter | [7]Subscribe [8]Subscribe to
icon Information Matters

 

 

Notice:

The information contained in this email message and any attached files may
be confidential information, and may also be the subject of legal
professional privilege. If you are not the intended recipient any use,
disclosure or copying of this email is unauthorised. If you received this
email in error, please notify the sender by contacting the department's
switchboard on 1300 488 064 during business hours (8:30am - 5pm Canberra
time) and delete all copies of this transmission together with any
attachments.

References

Visible links
1. https://www.oaic.gov.au/
2. http://www.oaic.gov.au/
3. mailto:[email address]
4. http://www.facebook.com/OAICgov
5. https://www.linkedin.com/company/office-...
6. https://twitter.com/OAICgov
8. https://www.oaic.gov.au/media-and-speech...

OAIC - Legal, Office of the Australian Information Commissioner

1 Attachment

Dear Verity Pane,

 

Please find attached decision in relation to FOIREQ22/00225.  The schedule
and documents will be provided to you tomorrow, 13 September 2022.

 

Regards,

 

Emily

 

 

Notice:

The information contained in this email message and any attached files may
be confidential information, and may also be the subject of legal
professional privilege. If you are not the intended recipient any use,
disclosure or copying of this email is unauthorised. If you received this
email in error, please notify the sender by contacting the department's
switchboard on 1300 488 064 during business hours (8:30am - 5pm Canberra
time) and delete all copies of this transmission together with any
attachments.

OAIC - Legal, Office of the Australian Information Commissioner

7 Attachments

Dear Verity Pane,

 

As per our previous email, please find attached the schedule and documents
in relation to FOIREQ22/00225.

 

Kind Regards,

 

[1]O A I C logo   Alessia Mercuri | Lawyer

Legal Services

Office of the Australian
Information Commissioner

GPO Box 5218 Sydney NSW 2001  |
 [2]oaic.gov.au

+61 2 9942 4236| 
[3][email address]
[7]Subscribe [8]Subscribe to
[4]Facebook | [5]LinkedIn | [6]Twitter |   icon Information
Matters

 

 

From: OAIC - Legal
Sent: Monday, 12 September 2022 6:40 PM
To: Verity Pane <[9][FOI #9265 email]>
Cc: OAIC - Legal <[10][email address]>
Subject: FOIREQ22/00225

 

Dear Verity Pane,

 

Please find attached decision in relation to FOIREQ22/00225.  The schedule
and documents will be provided to you tomorrow, 13 September 2022.

 

Regards,

 

Emily

 

 

Notice:

The information contained in this email message and any attached files may
be confidential information, and may also be the subject of legal
professional privilege. If you are not the intended recipient any use,
disclosure or copying of this email is unauthorised. If you received this
email in error, please notify the sender by contacting the department's
switchboard on 1300 488 064 during business hours (8:30am - 5pm Canberra
time) and delete all copies of this transmission together with any
attachments.

References

Visible links
1. https://aus01.safelinks.protection.outlo...
2. https://www.oaic.gov.au/
3. mailto:[email address]
4. https://aus01.safelinks.protection.outlo...
5. https://aus01.safelinks.protection.outlo...
6. https://aus01.safelinks.protection.outlo...
8. https://www.oaic.gov.au/updates/sign-up/
9. mailto:[FOI #9265 email]
10. mailto:[email address]

Attn Office of the Australian Information Commissioner,

Slapping s 47E(d) exemptions on everything simply because a complaint is open is an abuse of the exemption. The OAIC take years to deal with FOI complaints so this is not a black box you can hide things in.

It was not intended to be used indiscriminately as a blanket barrier to access to a class of documents, especially given the benefits that transparency in procedure provides to the public interest.

Pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews, as an internal review of the Office of the Australian Information Commissioner's decision in my FOI request 'FOI Act complaints received by the OAIC in July 2022'.

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address: https://www.righttoknow.org.au/request/f...

Verity Pane

OAIC - Legal, Office of the Australian Information Commissioner

5 Attachments

OAIC reference: FOIREQ22/00290

 

Dear Verity Pane,

 

I refer to your email of 14 September 2022.

 

We acknowledge receipt of your application for internal review of the
OAIC’s FOI decision FOIREQ22/00225 dated 12 September 2022.

 

Section 54C of the Freedom of Information Act 1982 (Cth) requires this
office to make a fresh decision within 30 days after the day we received
your application.

 

Because we received your application on 14 September 2022, we must make a
fresh decision by 14 October 2022.

 

Your application will be allocated to a review officer with no previous
involvement with the earlier decision.

 

If you have any questions, please contact me at the details provided
below.

 

Kind regards

 

[1][IMG] Toby Shanks | Paralegal

Legal Services

Office of the Australian
Information Commissioner

GPO Box 5218 Sydney NSW 2001 |
[2]oaic.gov.au

1300 363 992 |
[3][email address]
[4]Facebook | [5]LinkedIn | [6]Twitter | [7]Subscribe [8]Subscribe to
icon Information Matters

 

 

Notice:

The information contained in this email message and any attached files may
be confidential information, and may also be the subject of legal
professional privilege. If you are not the intended recipient any use,
disclosure or copying of this email is unauthorised. If you received this
email in error, please notify the sender by contacting the department's
switchboard on 1300 488 064 during business hours (8:30am - 5pm Canberra
time) and delete all copies of this transmission together with any
attachments.

References

Visible links
1. https://www.oaic.gov.au/
2. http://www.oaic.gov.au/
3. mailto:[email address]
4. http://www.facebook.com/OAICgov
5. https://www.linkedin.com/company/office-...
6. https://twitter.com/OAICgov
8. https://www.oaic.gov.au/media-and-speech...